Double Christmas Gold

Looking back on 2020 and 2021, we see a time full of upheavals and changes, in which our daily lives have changed drastically for various reasons.

The triggers were the SARS-CoV-2 virus, measures such as lockdowns, mandatory masks, distancing rules and massive restrictions on our daily, professional and private lives. And last but not least, when vaccinating was believed to be the "game changer" and the ultimate solution, came the relativization of its effectiveness[1] (no sterile immunity, need for frequent boosters, side effects, little protection of others, primarily self-protection) and an even greater division of society by this "lifeline" vaccination.

 

Who has not personally experienced some emotional discussions about the pandemic, the jungle of measures, mask or vaccination requirements? It has really not always been easy to remain calm, confident, loving, and understanding during this time.

 

Currently we are encountering fears at every turn: Fear of the virus or of undesirable, serious side effects of a new type of vaccination[2] that is emergency approved and still in the test phase; and the fear of division in society or fear of losing fundamental rights such as freedom, physical integrity, the right to work or to participate in a social life. According to Prof. Dr. Christoph Pieh, author of a recent study at Danube University Krems[3], the "psychological stress limit of young people has been far exceeded”. Furthermore: "The frequency of depressive symptoms, anxiety symptoms but also sleep disorders have meanwhile increased five to tenfold". Already 14% of boys and even about one fifth of girls from a total of 1500 examined pupils between the ages of 14-20 years, suffer from recurring, suicidal thoughts.

 

These alarming, mental burdens have a real background: all of these fears are well-founded, understandable and should be taken seriously. Psychoneuroimmunology shows the connection between psychological stress and susceptibility to infection: “Experimental virological studies have shown that psychological stress increases susceptibility to pathogens.”[4]

 

Therefore it’s even more incomprehensible that politicians and the media have been focusing mainly on a virus for almost two years, deliberately stoking fear of it, but accepting the consequences and "side effects" of drastic measures such as lockdowns[5] and school closures and thus causing permanent stress. It would be much more important to provide honest information and risk education based on comprehensible facts, evidence-based studies and open scientific discourse in order to prevent excessive fears and the resulting weakening of the immune system as well as disproportionate measures and laws.

 

The apparently irreconcilable split does not only run through the population; a fair and open discourse that has been common up to now, also in medicine and science, seems neither wanted nor possible. On the contrary, scientific findings that do not confirm the general narrative only have a platform apart from the “mainstream media”. [6]

 

But complex problems always need several solution options: Being forced to take a single possible path creates pressure and counter-pressure and not a peaceful coexistence. An either-or of two options is a dilemma, and in order to be able to make a truly free decision, at least a third option is needed.

 

A compromise of two opposing opinions or extremes could be the famous "golden mean". Already the ancient Greek polymath Aristotle[7] pleaded for this "way of the middle", and his modern compatriots have taken a more comprehensible path even for such a controversial instrument as mandatory vaccination[8].

 

Also highly effective in its application is the "golden rule": "Treat others as you would have them treat you." This was and still is the basis for fundamental ethical and moral concepts of many different cultures and religions[9]. In times of blatant discrimination of law-abiding citizens on the basis of a highly personal matter ("vaccination status") and deliberately media-controlled, but scientifically baseless scapegoat politics, this principle is more important than ever.

 

In our everyday professional and private lives, I would like to recommend this double "Christmas gold" to all of us this year. It is a gift we can give to ourselves and to our fellow human beings if we consciously focus on finding workable compromises and treat people with the respect and tolerance we would like for ourselves.

 

Perhaps every golden Christmas decoration, bow or wrapping paper, every glimpse of something gold colored – be it a ring or piece of jewelry – can remind us to consciously focus on and apply these golden wisdoms. This association of the color gold serves as an anchor for our (sub)consciousness and facilitates practical application. Golden rule and middle way can thus serve us, if we choose to do so, as an inner, basic attitude towards others and enable a more harmonious Christmas.

 

[1] https://tkp.at/2021/12/11/stellungnahme-zum-covid-19-impfpflichtgesetz-in-der-parlamentarischen-begutachtung/

[2] https://www.canadiancovidcarealliance.org/wp-content/uploads/2021/12/The-COVID-19-Inoculations-More-Harm-Than-Good-REV-Dec-16-2021.pdf

[3] https://www.donau-uni.ac.at/de/aktuelles/news/2021/psychische-belastung-bei-jugendlichen-weiterhin-hoch.html

[4] https://www.aerzteblatt.de/archiv/35552/Psychoneuroimmunologie-Stress-erhoeht-Infektanfaelligkeit

[5] https://tkp.at/2021/01/11/stanford-studie-mit-top-medizin-wissenschaftler-ioannidis-zeigt-keinen-nutzen-von-lockdowns/

[6] https://www.servustv.com/aktuelles/v/aa-27juub3a91w11/

[7] https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aristoteles

[8] https://www.dw.com/de/griechenland-impfpflicht-f%C3%BCr-%C3%BC60/a-59984556

[9] https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Goldene_Regel

Voucher for 20% discount on 2 SunCoaching sessions each!

Doppeltes Weihnachtsgold

Wenn wir auf die beiden Jahre 2020 und 2021 zurückblicken, sehen wir eine Zeit voller Umbrüche und Veränderungen, in der sich unsere Umwelt und die täglichen Rahmenbedingungen aus verschiedenen Gründen drastisch gewandelt haben.

Die Auslöser waren das SARS-CoV-2 Virus, Maßnahmen wie Lockdowns, Maskenpflicht, Abstandsregeln und massive Einschränkungen unseres beruflichen und privaten Alltags. Und nicht zuletzt, als man glaubte, die Impfung sei der “Game-Changer” und die ultimative Lösung, die Relativierung von deren Wirksamkeit[1] (keine sterile Immunität, Notwendigkeit häufiger Auffrischungen, Nebenwirkungen, wenig Fremdschutz, primär Selbstschutz,) und eine noch größere Spaltung der Gesellschaft durch genau diesen “Rettungsanker” Impfung.

 

Wer von uns hat nicht am eigenen Leib mehr oder weniger emotionale Diskussionen über die Pandemie, das Maßnahmen-Dickicht, Masken- oder Impfpflicht erlebt? Es ist in dieser Zeit wirklich nicht immer leicht, liebevoll, ruhig, zuversichtlich und verständnisvoll zu bleiben.

 

Nicht zuletzt da uns auf Schritt und Tritt Ängste begegnen: sei es die Angst vor dem Virus oder vor unerwünschten, gravierenden Nebenwirkungen einer nur bedingt zugelassenen, neuartigen Impfung[2]; die Angst vor Spaltung der Gesellschaft oder die Angst vor dem Verlust von fundamentalen Rechten wie Freiheit, körperliche Unversehrtheit, Recht auf Arbeit oder Teilnahme am gesellschaftlichen Leben. Laut Univ.-Prof. Dr. Christoph Pieh, Autor einer aktuellen Studie der Donau-Universität Krems[3], ist beispielsweise die “psychische Belastungsgrenze der Jugendlichen weit überschritten”. Und weiters: “Die Häufigkeit depressiver Symptome, Angstsymptome aber auch Schlafstörungen haben sich mittlerweile verfünf- bis verzehnfacht“. Bereits 14% der Burschen und sogar rund ein Fünftel der Mädchen von insgesamt 1500 untersuchten SchülerInnen im Alter von 14-20 Jahren leiden unter wiederkehrenden, suizidalen Gedanken.

 

Diese alarmierenden, psychischen Belastungen haben einen realen Hintergrund: sämtliche dieser Ängste sind begründet, verständlich und sollen ernst genommen werden. Die Psychoneuroimmunologie zeigt den Zusammenhang von psychischen Belastungen und Infektionsanfälligkeit auf: “Experimentelle virologische Studien haben ergeben, dass psychische Belastungen die Anfälligkeit gegenüber Krankheitserregern erhöhen.”[4]

Umso unverständlicher ist es seitens Politik und Medien, seit fast 2 Jahren den Fokus hauptsächlich auf ein Virus zu legen, die Angst davor gezielt zu schüren, aber Folgen und “Nebenwirkungen” einschneidender Maßnahmen wie Lockdowns[5] und Schulschließungen in Kauf zu nehmen und damit Dauerstress zu verursachen. Viel wichtiger wäre es, aufgrund von nachvollziehbaren Fakten, evidenzbasierten Studien und offenem, wissenschaftlichen Diskurs ehrliche Information und Risiko-Aufklärung zu betreiben, um einem Übermaß an Ängsten und daraus resultierender Immunsystem-Schwächung sowie unverhältnismäßigen Maßnahmen und Gesetzen vorzubeugen.

Doch die scheinbar unüberbrückbare Spaltung geht nicht nur durch die Bevölkerung, auch in Medizin und Wissenschaft scheint ein bisher üblicher, fairer und offener Diskurs weder gewollt noch möglich. Im Gegenteil, wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse, die nicht das allgemeine Narrativ bestätigen, haben nur noch eine Plattform abseits der “Mainstream-Medien”.[6]

 

Dabei brauchen vielschichtige Probleme immer mehrere Lösungs-Optionen: Zu einem einzig möglichen Weg gezwungen zu werden, erzeugt Druck und Gegendruck und kein friedliches Miteinander. Ein Entweder-Oder von zwei Optionen ist ein Dilemma und um wirklich frei entscheiden zu können braucht es daher mindestens eine dritte Möglichkeit.

 

Ein Kompromiss zweier entgegengesetzter Meinungen oder Extreme könnte der berühmte “goldenen Mittelweg” sein. Schon der antike, griechische Universalgelehrte Aristoteles[7] plädierte für diesen “Weg der Mitte”, und seine modernen Landsleute haben selbst für ein so umstrittenes Instrument wie eine Impfpflicht einen nachvollziehbareren Weg eingeschlagen[8].

 

Ebenfalls hochwirksam in ihrer Anwendung ist die “goldene Regel” : “Behandle andere so, wie du von ihnen behandelt werden willst.” Diese war und ist Basis für grundlegende ethische und moralische Vorstellungen der verschiedensten Kulturen und Religionen.[9] In Zeiten von unverhohlener Diskriminierung unbescholtener Bürger aufgrund einer höchstpersönlichen Angelegenheit (“Impfstatus”) und bewusst medial gesteuerter, aber wissenschaftlich nicht haltbarer Sündenbock-Politik ist dieses Prinzip wichtiger denn je.

 

Im beruflichen und privaten Alltag möchte ich dieses zweifache “Weihnachts-Gold” uns allen heuer besonders ans Herz legen. Es ist ein Geschenk, das wir uns selbst und unseren Mitmenschen machen können, wenn wir bewusst unseren Fokus darauf legen, gangbare Kompromisse zu finden und Menschen so respektvoll und tolerant behandeln, wie wir uns das selbst wünschen.  

 

Vielleicht kann uns jede goldene Weihnachtsdekoration, Schleife oder Weihnachtspapier, jeder Blick auf etwas Goldfarbenes – sei es ein Ring oder Schmuckstück – daran erinnern,  bewusst den Fokus auf diese zeitlosen, goldenen Weisheiten zu legen und sie anzuwenden. Diese Assoziation der Farbe Gold dient dabei als Anker für unser (Unter-)Bewusstsein und erleichtert die praktische Anwendung. Goldene Regel und Mittelweg können uns so, wenn wir uns dafür entscheiden, als innere Einstellung und Grundhaltung anderen gegenüber dienen und ein harmonischeres Weihnachtsfest ermöglichen.

 

[1] https://tkp.at/2021/12/11/stellungnahme-zum-covid-19-impfpflichtgesetz-in-der-parlamentarischen-begutachtung/

[2] https://www.canadiancovidcarealliance.org/wp-content/uploads/2021/12/The-COVID-19-Inoculations-More-Harm-Than-Good-REV-Dec-16-2021.pdf

[3] https://www.donau-uni.ac.at/de/aktuelles/news/2021/psychische-belastung-bei-jugendlichen-weiterhin-hoch.html

[4] https://www.aerzteblatt.de/archiv/35552/Psychoneuroimmunologie-Stress-erhoeht-Infektanfaelligkeit

[5] https://tkp.at/2021/01/11/stanford-studie-mit-top-medizin-wissenschaftler-ioannidis-zeigt-keinen-nutzen-von-lockdowns/

[6] https://www.servustv.com/aktuelles/v/aa-27juub3a91w11/

[7] https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aristoteles

[8] https://www.dw.com/de/griechenland-impfpflicht-f%C3%BCr-%C3%BC60/a-59984556

[9] https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Goldene_Regel

 

Gutschein für je 20% Rabatt bei 2 SunCoaching-Einheiten!