Stress, Epigenetics and the 4Step Strategy

 

 

Even in the spring of 2021 is Covid-19 still a major stress factor in all our lives. Therefore, this newsletter is again about the topic of stress, its influence on our genes and the important knowledge about avoiding or coping with stress in daily life.
 

My eldest daughter Helena is writing about the topic: "Epigenetics Research: Influence of Stress on Genes" in her pre-scientific work at the Akademic Gymnasium, Salzburg, and came across studies that prove the effects of negative or chronic stress on our epigenetics.[1] In contrast to genetics, which deals with the DNA (genetic material) itself, epigenetics provides an explanation of how environmental factors change the activity state of genes and how these changes can be passed on.[2]  Helena Pree: "Long-lasting stress alters epigenetics, increasing the risk of diseases such as depression. This applies to every phase of life.”[3]

Particularly with the Corona pandemic and the measures to contain it, many people's individually perceived stress levels are rising even more, whether through psychological, mental or physical exhaustion,[4] burden of home office and distance learning, restrictions in business life and private contacts. The under-60 population group is increasingly suffering from symptoms such as anxiety and depression. Moderate to severe depressive symptoms, for example, have increased from 6.4% to 8.8% in Germany.[5]

That was the bad news, but the good news is that we have numerous ways to manage and reduce stress and to prevent or even heal the negative effects of stress on the psyche and body. Already in the Christmas Newsletter 2018
I explained the components of our stress (stressors, personal stress amplifiers, stress response) in more detail, described stress management tips and provided links to a stress test and a breathing exercise (MP3 download):

https://www.suncoaching.net/newsletter-artikel-nov-18

 

Another very effective technique that works on all levels of stress is the 4Step Strategy [6] for the “acute case”. This strategy is applicable to any acutely stressful situation that can be triggered by a wide variety of external stressors. Environmental factors, circumstances or events such as a lockdown, a conflict flaring up, additional work or performance pressure can be such stressors.

 

Based on Figure 1, we can see how an "acute case" normally unfolds, i.e., without conscious countermeasures, and therefore often triggers a stress spiral:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Using the 4Step Strategy, outlined in Figure 2, a way out of the stress spiral can be found:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The 4Step Strategy explained in more detail:

 

ACCEPT: means to accept the situation as it is – as a part of our life, our work, etc.  Sticking your head in the sand is just as unhelpful as resisting it, being angry about it, blaming yourself or others, feeling guilty, and so on…

Acceptance needs:

1. being aware of stress signals early on

2. deciding clearly and consciously in favor of acceptance (and therefore against restisting reality).

 

STAY COOL: Instead of getting into it, getting upset or even "freaking out," the goal is to get a handle on your own excitement, collect yourself and keep a cool head. Again, it is important to make a conscious decision to cool and calm down and – depending on the situation – to do specific, appropriate exercises which can range from taking a deep breath or mentally counting to 10 to short relaxation and movement exercises.

 

ANALYSE: Clear and conscious assessment of the situation, which is much easier due to the previous cooldown without the so called "psychological fog" (the boiling up of feelings), which can literally "fog" our brain.

 

ACT or DISTRACT: Through the previous analysis, we can now assess whether it is better to actively take care of the situation (address things, delegate, reschedule, seek support…) or to distance oneself from the situation and take care of oneself in the form of a positive distraction (new focus, sports, relaxation, reading, humor...)

 

It is recommended to think through this 4Step Strategy as a mental training, for example for a past stress situation, in order to be better prepared for future situations and to counteract the stress spiral of stress reaction, mental stress amplifiers and automated stress behaviors in time.

A targeted coaching session can be a valuable aid for that.

 

I gave additional anti-stress tips in the December 2020 newsletter: in the Podcast-Interview with Carsten Meyer (https://healthyteacher.net/035-interview-ingrid-stadler-pree-huna-philosophie-stressmanagement/)
For an immediate, effective relaxation exercise, I provide instructions for Progressive Muscle Relaxation
(E. Jacobson) to download: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1GCsP2K57jLZHY907gGOJ_lGWJ1K----p/view

 

Stay healthy and happy!

Literature:

[1] ALASAARI, Jukka u.a.: Environmental Stress Affects DNA Methylation of a CpG Rich Promoter Region of Serotonin Transporter Gene in a Nurse Cohort. PloS One 2012. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/23029256/ [Zugriff: 29.01.2021]

[2] https://www.umweltbundesamt.de/sites/default/files/medien/pdfs/epigenetik.pdf  [Zugriff: 22.02.2021]

[3] PREE, Helena: Epigenetik-Forschung: Einfluss von Stress auf die Gene. VWA Akad.Gym.Salzburg 2021 https://docs.google.com/document/d/1XL2TFpmDXAmQtKf7mzOoas82swuLUTcz-dnzPUa-7Ho/edit?ts=6023fa2f [Zugriff: 22.02.2021]

[4] 16: Ying An, Yuan Yang, Aiping Wang, Yue Li, Qing Zhang, Teris Cheung, Gabor S. Ungvari, Ming-Zhao Qin, Feng-Rong An, Yu- TaoXiang: Prevalence of depression and its impact on quality of life among frontline nurses in emergency departments during the Covid-19 outbreak, 2020, Journal of affective Disorder, [Zugriff: 22.02.2021] https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0165032720324381?casa_token=rysf0sXnKvoAAAAA:Itq0fUYWHsWHkFtwgZsbicuJCVYkzL-LkVzjnBuDEgpOTofxg-bhbqP_PfssitIYREAsdn-leMY

[5]  https://www.gesundheitsforschung-bmbf.de/de/nako-gesundheitsstudie-starkere-psychische-belastung-durch-corona-pandemie-12564.php

[6] aus G. Kaluza: Stressbewältigung, Trainingsmanual zur psychologischen Gesundheitsförderung, 4.Auflage, Springer-Verlag 2018

Acute case E.png
4Step Strategy E.png

Stress, Epigenetik und die 4A-Strategie

 

 

Auch im Frühling 2021 ist Covid-19 immer noch ein großer Stress-Faktor in unser aller Leben. Daher geht es auch in diesem Newsletter um das Thema Stress, dessen Einfluss auf unsere Gene und das wichtige Wissen um die Vermeidung bzw. Bewältigung von Stress im täglichen Leben.
 

Meine älteste Tochter Helena hat sich im Rahmen ihrer vorwissenschaftlichen Arbeit am Akademischen Gymnasium, Salzburg, mit dem Thema: “Epigenetik-Forschung: Einfluss von Stress auf die Gene” auseinandergesetzt und ist dabei auf Studien gestoßen, welche die Auswirkungen von negativem bzw. chronischem Stress auf unsere Epigenetik nachweisen[1]. Im Unterschied zur Genetik, welche sich mit der DNA (Erbsubstanz) selbst beschäftigt, liefert die Epigenetik eine Erklärung , wie Umweltfaktoren den Aktivitätszustand von Genen verändern und diese Veränderungen weiter vererbt werden können.[2]  Helena Pree: “Lange andauernder Stress verändert die Epigenetik, sodass das Risiko für Krankheiten wie Depressionen steigt. Das gilt für jede Lebensphase.”[3]

Insbesondere durch die Corona Pandemie und die Maßnahmen zu deren Eindämmung steigt der individuell empfundene Stress-Pegel vieler Menschen noch mehr, sei es durch psychologische, mentale oder körperliche Erschöpfung,[4] Belastung durch Home-Office und Distance-Learning, Einschränkungen im Wirtschaftsleben und bei privaten Kontakten. Die Bevölkerungsgruppe der unter 60-Jährigen leidet zunehmend an Symptomen wie Angst und Depressionen. Moderat bis schwer ausgeprägte depressive Symptome stiegen beispielsweise in Deutschland von 6,4 auf 8,8% an.[5]

Das war die schlechte Nachricht, die gute jedoch ist, dass wir zahlreiche Möglichkeiten haben, Stress zu bewältigen, zu reduzieren und den negativen Auswirkungen von Stress auf Psyche und Körper vorzubeugen oder auch heilend darauf einzuwirken. Bereits im Weihnachts-Newsletter 2018 habe ich die Komponenten unseres Stressgeschehens (Stressoren, persönliche Stressverstärker, Stressreaktion) näher erläutert, Stressmanagement-Tipps beschrieben sowie Links zu einem Stresstest und einer Atem-Übung (MP3 Download) zur Verfügung gestellt: https://www.suncoaching.net/newsletter-artikel-nov-18

 

Eine weitere, sehr effektive Technik, die auf alle Ebenen des Stressgeschehens wirkt, ist die 4A-Strategie [6] für den “Akutfall”. Diese Strategie ist für jede akute Stresssituation anwendbar, die durch verschiedenste Stressoren von außen ausgelöst werden kann. Umweltfaktoren, Umstände oder Ereignisse wie beispielsweise ein Lockdown, ein aufflammender Konflikt, zusätzlicher Arbeits- oder Leistungsdruck können derartige Stressoren sein.

Anhand von Abbildung 1 sehen wir, wie ein “Akutfall” normalerweise, das heißt, ohne bewusstes Gegensteuern, abläuft und oft eine Stress-Spirale auslöst:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mittels der in Abbildung 2 skizzierten 4A-Strategie, kann ein Ausweg aus der Stress-Spirale gefunden werden: 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Nachfolgend werden die Schritte der 4A-Strategie detailliert erklärt:

 

Annehmen: bedeutet, die Situation so zu akzeptieren, wie sie nun mal ist – als Teil unseres Lebens, meiner Arbeit etc.  Den Kopf in den Sand stecken ist genauso wenig hilfreich, wie Widerstand dagegen, Ärger darüber, Vorwürfe sich selbst oder anderen gegenüber, Schuldgefühle etc.

Annehmen braucht:

1. Stress-Signale frühzeitig wahrnehmen

2. Sich klar und bewusst für das Annehmen (daher gegen das Hadern mit der Realität) entscheiden

 

Abkühlen: Statt dem Hineinsteigern, Aufregen oder gar “Ausrasten”, geht es darum, die eigene Erregung in den Griff zu bekommen, sich zu sammeln und einen kühlen Kopf zu bewahren. Wichtig ist dafür wieder die bewusste Entscheidung für das Abkühlen und je nach Situation gezielte, passende Übungen: vom “tiefen Durchatmen” oder gedanklich bis 10 zählen bis zu kurzen Entspannungs- und Bewegungsübungen.

 

Analysieren: Klare und bewusste Einschätzung der Situation, was durch das vorherige Abkühlen dann ohne “psychologischen Nebel” (dem Hochkochen von Gefühlen), welcher buchstäblich unser Gehirn “vernebeln” kann, viel leichter möglich ist.

 

Ablenkung oder Aktion:  Durch die vorherige Analyse können wir nun beurteilen, ob es besser ist, sich aktiv um die Situation zu kümmern (Dinge angehen, delegieren, umplanen, Unterstützung suchen, etc.) oder sich von der Situation zu distanzieren und in Form einer positiven Ablenkung um sich selbst zu kümmern (neuer Fokus, Sport, Entspannung, Lesen, Humor…)

 

 

Es ist empfehlenswert, diese 4A-Strategie als Mental-Training gedanklich durchzuspielen, beispielsweise für eine bereits vergangene Stress-Situation, um so für zukünftige Situationen besser gerüstet zu sein und rechtzeitig der Stress-Spirale von Stressreaktion, mentalen Stressverstärkern und automatisierten Stressverhaltensweisen entgegenzuwirken. Gezieltes Coaching kann hierfür eine wertvolle Hilfestellung sein.

 

Zusätzliche Anti-Stress-Tipps habe ich im Dezember 2020 Newsletter gegeben: im Podcast-Interview mit Carsten Meyer (https://healthyteacher.net/035-interview-ingrid-stadler-pree-huna-philosophie-stressmanagement/)
Als sofortige, wirksame Enspannungsübung ist hier die Anleitung zur Progressiven Muskelentspannung nach Jacobson zum Downloaden: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1GCsP2K57jLZHY907gGOJ_lGWJ1K----p/view

 

Alles Gute und bleiben Sie gesund!

 

Literatur:

[1] ALASAARI, Jukka u.a.: Environmental Stress Affects DNA Methylation of a CpG Rich Promoter Region of Serotonin Transporter Gene in a Nurse Cohort. PloS One 2012. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/23029256/ [Zugriff: 29.01.2021]

[2] https://www.umweltbundesamt.de/sites/default/files/medien/pdfs/epigenetik.pdf  [Zugriff: 22.02.2021]

[3] PREE, Helena: Epigenetik-Forschung: Einfluss von Stress auf die Gene. VWA Akad.Gym.Salzburg 2021 https://docs.google.com/document/d/1XL2TFpmDXAmQtKf7mzOoas82swuLUTcz-dnzPUa-7Ho/edit?ts=6023fa2f [Zugriff: 22.02.2021]

[4] 16: Ying An, Yuan Yang, Aiping Wang, Yue Li, Qing Zhang, Teris Cheung, Gabor S. Ungvari, Ming-Zhao Qin, Feng-Rong An, Yu- TaoXiang: Prevalence of depression and its impact on quality of life among frontline nurses in emergency departments during the Covid-19 outbreak, 2020, Journal of affective Disorder, [Zugriff: 22.02.2021] https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0165032720324381?casa_token=rysf0sXnKvoAAAAA:Itq0fUYWHsWHkFtwgZsbicuJCVYkzL-LkVzjnBuDEgpOTofxg-bhbqP_PfssitIYREAsdn-leMY

[5]  https://www.gesundheitsforschung-bmbf.de/de/nako-gesundheitsstudie-starkere-psychische-belastung-durch-corona-pandemie-12564.php

[6] aus G. Kaluza: Stressbewältigung, Trainingsmanual zur psychologischen Gesundheitsförderung, 4.Auflage, Springer-Verlag 2018